Chapter 48: How We Perceive

A/N: 180 line jumping. oh well.
And I realize that it probably isn’t exactly exactly exactly the right time chronologically to go back to Yadira and Reck, but it’s just a convenient spot to put it.


Orion

     The following morning, I go downstairs to see if I can find anything for breakfast. There isn’t anything, but I’m not concerned. I’ll make my way up to Sama’s later.

     Sama. I remember the little purse that Yadira wanted us to have. Inside it are precious seeds.
     I pick it up and take it with me, ready to tell Sama the happy surprise. I didn’t during the voyage home because I didn’t want to break her heart should the seeds not make it. It looks like enough did.

     I exit the building, and the first thing I see is a mass of red curls. Corin, or Corrine, is digging in the earth, beating it to near death with her little spade.
    “What’re you about?” I ask as I walk up to her.

     “I’m going to plant a garden. I’m bored, and I can’t train with this broken hand the way it is.”
     “Ye could try readin’,” I offer.
     “I hate reading, and you know that.” She crouches back down to the ground. More dirt flings into the air.
     “Well, in yer diggin’, do ya mind not sending all the good soil inta the breeze?”
     She lets out a huffing sigh. “Fine! I’ll find something else to do.” She stands up and dusts herself off. Then she looks at me. “What are you up to?”

     I hold up the little leather purse. “I’ve a surprise fer Sama.”
     “What is it?”

     I back my head up. “‘Tis a surprise. If I told ya, it wouldna be a surprise, would it?” I go past her with a smile and start walking away. “Yer welcome ta come along,” I throw over my shoulder.
     She lets out an annoyed ‘augh!’ sound and trudges after me.
     We make it up to Sama’s house and let ourselves inside, and it suddenly occurs to me how no one knocks here. I find her sitting at her table, looking at yet another book.
     “What is it?” she asks me after I tell her about the surprise. Corrine stands nearby, not really taking part in the conversation yet not not part of it at the same time.

     I carefully put a few of the seeds into my palm. “This. I didna tell ye just in case they didna make it, but they did.”
     “Is that what I think it is?” she asks, breathless.
     “Aye. Wheat. An’ maize.” I smile. “A gift. From Yadira.”
     She starts making little huffing noises like she’s about to cry. After gently replacing the seeds, I crouch down next to her.
     “What’s wrong?”

     “We FAILED!” She falls onto her arms as they rest on the table, and her shoulders shake with her sobs.
     I rub her arm. “Ya canna fail where ya were never meant to succeed.”
     “It’s like it was all for nothing!” She sits up and wipes at her eyes. Corrine still stands in the background, staring off into space, thinking I have no idea what.
     “Not nothing. She made sure o’ that. We’re gonna have bread, Sama.”
     She lets out another sob, I hope a happy one this time. “Sorry. I cry all the time lately, sometimes at nothing.”
     “Er…” I pause. Well, she and Vik DO go at it like rabbits. “Do ya think…?” Sama had a miscarriage about the time Corin arrived, and she only shared it with Vik and myself. She didn’t want everyone to know.
     “Maybe, but I don’t want to tell anyone. Just in case.” She wipes at her eyes again.

     “Understood.” I turn to the female version of my best mate. “An’ Corrine won’t say anythin’, will ya?”
     She suddenly jumps back and shakes her head. “Ehy? Won’t say anything what?”
     I give her a look, wondering what that mind in there is thinking. “Exactly.”
     Sama looks at her. “Oh, Corin, before I forget. I’m sorry. I mean Corrine, before I forget. Vik wants to see you at the forge. He’s designing an aluminum hand brace for you.”

     “A what brace?”
     “A hand brace,” she repeats, but I think I know what Corrine’s really asking.
    “Aluminium,” I explain. I’m guessing that with the way her mind is wandering, it couldn’t translate fast enough and didn’t catch what Sama meant. They took off one of the I’s over here.
     “Oh. Right. I’ll go then. Cheers.” She turns and leaves the house.

     After the door closes, Sama comments quietly, “That was the last thing I expected to come home to.”
     I let out a quick exhale from my nose and slightly shake my head. “Yer not alone there.”
     She looks at me. “Are you okay?” She’s so perceptive.
     “I’ll let ya know when I’ve figured that oot.” I nod as I leave the house, wondering how things are going at the forge.

     As I walk outside, however, I pause and watch the pair of them, mostly Corrine. Vik is explaining to her how to adjust the brace and take it on and off, but that’s not what really catches my attention and thoughts. It’s just her. With the scars gone, it’s as if someone were painting a portrait and decided to leave out all the imperfections and that is the result.

     My eyes travel lower. Too perfect, so much so that it makes my blood run hot–and not in a good way. Why did he decide to change? And… I suppose the thought process there is ‘if I’m changing anyway, why not make it good?’ I snort. She’s like one of those dolls people played with before the wars and plague. Barbie dolls. She’s like a blooming Barbie doll. This ‘Yadira’s brother’ changed him to her to a doll, and it all makes me want to clench my fists and scream.

     However, I have to keep my calm. Corin turning to Corrine made the person only that much more sensitive, and I don’t want to pass judgment too soon. So, I walk over to the two of them, yelling at myself in my head not to be an arse.

Yadira

     “Come in,” I say to the knocking at my door. Ally’s always forgetting something, so I’m not surprised. “What did you forget this time, Ally?” Then I turn and do a slight jump when I see who it is. “Oh.”

     He’s smiling at me. Why does he have to be here? Why can’t he just leave me alone? This week has proven that we can work together yet not have to interact. I’ve even stayed in his damn castle.
     “I was hoping to convince you to dine with me in the evenings.” He watches my face like he can read my every thought through it.

     “Why when it’s not necessary?” I turn my back to him and pretend to peruse my bookshelf.
     After a pause, he continues, “It would be a nice way for the two of us to share progress on our various projects.”
     “If you’d like a report on my progress, I’ll have Ally write you up a report.” I smirk.
     “That’s not what I meant, and you know it.” Ah, I’ve finally cracked through the mask. “Honestly, is the thought of sharing a meal with me that disgusting to you?”

     I slowly turn my head to look at him. “The idea of being in the same room with you puts me on my guard, and I’d like to relax in the evenings instead.”

     His jaw drops. “What happened? Why the sudden increase in hostility?”
     I fold my arms. “Do I really have to spell it out for you?”

     He throws his hands up. “Because I kissed you?”
     “I told you not to.”
     “Yeah, but then, you kissed me back.”

     “Doesn’t matter.”
     “How can you say that doesn’t matter?” He steps closer to me, and warning bells sound.

     I back up a step. “It matters that I told you not to and yet you still did. That tells me that you have no interest in how I feel in the matter, and that is NOT how you do it right.”
     I could’ve slapped him and gotten the same expression that covers his face now. Yes, I’ve cracked the mask, but I don’t have the sense of satisfaction that I thought I would’ve when I see a measure of pain displayed.

     He backs up a step. “Of course I’m interested in how you feel in the matter.”
     “Coulda fooled me.”
     He swallows, and I watch as the mask reassembles. “I was an ass, and I apologise.”
     I turn back to my bookshelf. “I’ll think about accepting it.” I’m actually impressed he apologized. It was unexpected. Maybe someday, he’ll get better.

     He stands straighter. Giving him a side-glance, I see the faintest hint of a glare. “Supper is served promptly at seven. I expect your presence there going forward.” His expression reminds me of day one.
     “No thank you.” Then again, maybe not.
     “If you decide not to show, I’ll take it as a decision to forgo supper altogether.”

     It’s my turn to drop my jaw. “So it’s eat with you or not at all, is it?”
     “Precisely.” He spins about and storms out of the room.  

Published by mypalsim

works in ATLwood. Writer. https://random-simming.blogspot.com/

Leave a comment

Tales of Camelot

A sims 4 story

Tribe Wahine: An Amazon story

Amazon legend starts here

Solstraalesims

Sims4 Stories born in my game.

Dim Sims

A crazy ISBI Sims 4 story

Day & Knight

A simlit drama based on the I'm A Lover Challenge

New Beginnings

Building Newcrest

After the End

Life after "the end"

Remember Me Until Tomorrow

A Sims 4 Simlit Story by Cement

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started